#UK Here’s how to find out if your Netflix was hacked — and fix it (NFLX)

//

netflix piper orange is the new black season 3Netflix lets multiple people use an account at the same time, and this feature is great when it allows you to mooch off a friend’s account without inconveniencing them.

But one problem with this policy is that it has inadvertently created a black market for “access” to stolen Netflix accounts.

A recent report by McAfee Labs revealed you can buy access to Netflix accounts in “Dark Web” marketplaces, which can only be accessed using a special internet browser called TOR that hides your IP address.

Hackers in these marketplaces are selling lifetime access to Netflix accounts for as little as $0.50. While some of these accounts are likely ones purchased with stolen credit card information, others used hacked login information, Raj Samani, the CTO of Intel Security, told Tech Insider.

And sometimes hackers don’t even sell the stolen accounts, but rather, just dump the login credentials on the internet for people to use.

Motherboard writer Rachel Pick came face-to-face with this phenomenon recently when she noticed weird movies and TV shows showing up in her “Recently Watched” section on Netflix. At first, she says she thought it was just a glitch in Netflix, but after reading about the black market for stolen Netflix accounts, she decided to check if hers had been hacked.

The tool she used was haveibeenpwned.com, which gives you a rough idea of whether your personal information has been leaked onto the internet. Pick found that her family’s login info had appeared on Pastebin, a site for dumping plaintext files, in a document with the title “BunchaNetflixAccounts.” The information from 2,400 other users had also been compromised.

While haveibeenpwned.com worked for Pick, it’s not always effective for finding out if you’ve been hacked, especially if your login is being sold on the “Dark Web.”

Luckily there’s an easy measure you can take if you think there might even be the possibility you’ve been hacked. Netflix has a feature that allows you to force all users who are logged into your account to log out. This means everyone with the username and passwords saved gets temporarily booted. Once you’ve done that, just change your password to keep them out permanently. This also works if you get too many “friends of friends” clogging up your account. 

Here is how you do it.

Go to the account page and select “Sign out of all devices.”

sign out of all devices step 2 1

You then will be prompted to confirm.

sign out of all devices

After that, all that’s left is changing your password so they can’t log back in (bear in mind the signing out can take up to eight hours to take effect).

SEE ALSO: Cable companies still have one big weapon against Netflix — and they’re starting to use it

Join the conversation about this story »

NOW WATCH: Cable channels are speeding up ‘Seinfeld’ reruns to squeeze in more commercials

from Business Insider http://ift.tt/1No8ZVi

Ce contenu a été publié dans #UK par Startup365. Mettez-le en favori avec son permalien.

A propos Startup365

Chaque jour nous vous présenterons une nouvelle Startup française ! Notre pays regorge de talents et d'entrepreneurs brillants ! Alors partons à la découverte des meilleures startup françaises ! Certaines d'entre elles sont dans une étape essentielle dans la vie d'une startup : la recherche de financement, notamment par le financement participatif (ou crowdfunding en anglais). Alors participez à cette grande aventure en leur faisant une petite donation ! Les startups françaises ont besoin de vous !